Scholarship Fund

MYLI Alumni Association Scholarship Honorable Marion Barry Scholarship Fund

Applications are now being accepted for the 2016 MYLI Alumni Association Scholarship Honorable Marion Barry Scholarship Fund. Download applications here. More information is available here.


Applications can be mailed to the MYLIAA Post Office Box at:
PO BOX 31356
Washington, DC 20020

(Applications sent to the MYLIAA PO Box must be post marked by Friday, July 1, 2016.)

In person
In person submission of the MYLIAA Scholarship Application must be made to MBYLI staff member Kemry Hughes. You can e-mail Mr. Hughes.

Finalists may have to participate in an in-person interview to be given further consideration for a scholarship award.

  • Applicants will receive further instructions once you submit your MYLIAA scholarship interest application.
  • Applications must be submitted in an appropriate sized envelope and not folded.
  • For more information please call Norman Nixon on (202) 236-6904.


Inaugural 2015 Winners

Scholarship App recipients

One of the primary goals of the MYLI Alumni Association is to provide college scholarships for Marion Barry’s Youth Leadership Institute graduating high school seniors. This year funds in the amount of $3,500 dollars were giving to all 11 applicants that applied. We wish success to all of the MBYLI alumni who are enrolled in college.

Recipients Name Scholarship Amount High School College Attending Declared Major
Shannon Banks $500 School Without Walls Temple Psychology Neuroscience
Jaida Guy $500 Benjamin Banneker Virginia State Animation and Design
Nyla Klusmann $500 McKinley Technolog Morgan State Psychology
Daniel Moore $500 School Without Walls University of Alabama Pre-Med
Aliyah Gaskins $300 Benjamin Banneker North Carolina A&T Marketing and Fashion Merchandising
Imani Hooper $300 Benjamin Banneker North Carolina Central Physical Education Exercise and Sports Medicine
Jacqueline Strange $300 Woodrow Wilson Rutgers Pre-Med/Biomedical
Jennella Arter $300 Benjamin Banneker University of Maryland Eastern Shore Hospitality and Tourism Management
Kerryn Freeman $100 Woodrow Wilson Mary Baldwin English/ Mass Communication Journalism
Alle Hayes $100 Benjamin Banneker Emory University Pre-Med/Biology
K’Vonte Petty $100 Friendship Tech Prep Florida A & M Electrical Engineering